Te Taha Hinengaro - Emotional, Mental

  • Empowering children to take responsibility for making choices about their own learning and behaviour.
  • Developing imagination and creativity through play.
  • Developing problem solving skills.
  • Developing literacy and numeracy skills.

Te Taha Wairua - Spiritual

  • Understanding that God loves us and has created us uniquely and we are valuable to Him irrespective of gender, culture and abilities.
  • Developing a sense of wonder and curiosity about God’s world.
  • Developing a knowledge and experience of the Fruits of the Spirit.
  • Experiencing opportunities to be engaged in an environment where praise, worship, prayer and learning from the Bible are valued.

Te Taha Whanau - Family, Community

  • Celebrating cultural diversity.
  • Embracing the concept of ako, where the teacher and child are seen as co-learners.
  • Developing an increasing competency of techniques and skills for communication.
  • Building reciprocal relationships and expanding experiences with families, whanau, places and events.
  • Developing social skills.
  • Being mindful and considerate of others.

Te Taha Tiana – Physical

  • Learning to show respect and care for themselves, the environment and our resources.
  • Growing control of body and physical co-ordination.
  • Encouraging children to try new things and take risks.